Black Coffee

IMG_20150824_184441Black coffee may be something that most Europeans (and a lot of other people) enjoy. But back here in South Africa most people drink instant coffee which doesn’t taste as good if you do not add milk and sugar. I grew up in a family where coffee is something we drink everyday. My father drinks up to twelve cups of coffee a day. Following his example I started to drink coffee when I was 10 years old and soon drank just as much as he did. We had instant coffee in the house and I was fine drinking it for almost nine years until I came to university and started to drink filter coffee. Drinking this amount of coffee with two spoons of sugar was a lot of sugar intake per day. I decided to lessen it by drinking only one spoon of sugar with my coffee. This made me think that I could just as well get used to no sugar at all. There are a lot of disadvantages in drinking too much sugar. It was not that I necessarily wanted to make healthy lifestyle choices, I just wanted to enjoy the taste of coffee, and coffee only, a little more.

After a month of drinking sugarless coffee I decided to try my coffee without milk. It took quite a while to getΒ used to the taste and today I drink my coffee black and bitter. Some of my friends still ask me, “Doesn’t it taste bad?” then I tell them, “As soon as you start drinking your coffee this way you won’t be able to drink it any other way.” I visited one of my friends who added some sugar to my coffee and it was horrible. It is also duringΒ some of these visits that I have to drink instant coffee. There are only certain types of instant coffees I would dare to drink, because some of them takes like really bad tea. I am really not a snob, but somethings in life are not worth compromising, and why should one?

I am also no coffee connoisseur but I know when I am drinking a good cup of coffee. The richness, the taste, the aroma – everything just blends well. Black coffee tastes amazing with some freshly baked goods and the very cliche croissant(something only becomes a cliche because of its popularity). And as I mentioned there are also some health benefits to drinking black coffee (click on the link to read and find out what they are). Try something new and maybe you will be surprised by the outcome. It may be that you even like it more than you thought you would. I always thought that black coffee must be the most disgusting thing one can drink, but alas, today it is one of the pleasures I wake up to each morning. It is like a ritual drinking my coffee – waking up, making coffee in either my coffee machine or plunger (it depends if I overslept or not), taking a shower giving the coffee time to finish up, and finally pouring the cup of coffee filling my nose with the amazing aroma’s of filter coffee.

This is how I start my day! What gets you up in the morning? Start to enjoy the small pleasures in life, it may end up being the greatest things in your life.

Keep it real.
DJ

Leave a Reply

