Excuse me, while I procrastinate

EMWIP

A while ago I walked into one of the buildings on campus, one where the graphic design students have most of their classes. I saw a poster on the wall with three characters on them… and it said, “Excuse me while I procrastinate”. At first I tried to figure out what do you want to be excused from? Perhaps the conversation while you’re going on Facebook or Instagram. Then, as the days went on and I bumped into the poster time after time, I considered that it might be a fictional band’s name. I think it would make a cool band name. The characters on the poster kind of reminded me of Phineas and Pherb – cool, swag, boyish.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

The poster kept me thinking and finally I asked one of the graphic design students, and one of my friends, what’s it all about. He told me that it is a project one of the students are working on. I then saw that this specific project had a Facebook page, a Blog and other social media accounts. I was rather quite surprised that it was such a big project. I read the entries on the blog explaining the project and what the aim of the project is. The most interesting thing about Nick of Time is that it encourages interaction not only on social media but also in real life. As it is explained, people interested in the project will get to together from time to time and there they will also be able to interact.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

This idea made me aware a few things I do myself, everyday. First of all, I also procrastinate a lot. Even one of my lecturers knows that I procrastinate – not always intentionally. The same lecturer told me about a clip from Ted Talks called Tim Urban: Inside the mind of the master procrastinator. Open the link and procrastinate a little. These days I try to “procrastinate” keeping myself busy with things that may actually inspire me, to write, to spark a conversation, etc.  There are some really great material out there, may it be a video, image or blog post, to inspire you, motivate you, or just make you laugh. Remember all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Secondly, this project made me realize that there are actually more advantages to procrastinate and spending time on social media like Ben the bored-bouncing-browser than one might think. One of social media’s prime goals is to get people connected so make use of that function. Send a message to a long lost friend , share a video that might inspire someone and tag them in it, or maybe just post something funny that will make someone’s day. Create an event that will get you and your friends together: this way they will have no excuse not to attend because they know about the event and they’re reminded every time they go on Facebook. This way you’re not just connected virtually but in reality as well.

Lastly, I would like to mention that there are a lot of times we try to find something to distract us from our harsh reality and procrastination is one form of escaping from the task at hand. We all have different ways we procrastinate, if it is spending time on social media, cleaning your room instead of studying for exams or making yourself a sandwich after you already ate lunch just because you don’t want to start with that project – we all have something we keep ourselves busy with instead of what we are “supposed” to do. Some food for thought: try and find the the things that make you tick and turn them into those “supposed-to-do-things” so that you won’t necessarily have to take a break from it and procrastinate, but hey, who doesn’t love to click, click and click.

Share the ways on how you like to procrastinate in the comment box below and don’t forget to subscribe.

Just keep swimming – Finding Nemo.

DJ

 

12 thoughts on “Excuse me, while I procrastinate

  1. Hi DJ!
    Dankie dat jy die link aan gestuur het — ek’t nie eers geweet jy Blog nie!
    Baie oulik!
    Ek sal weer ‘n draai kom maak!

    Ek maak deesdae ‘n punt daarvam om UIT te kom. Ons akademici leef mos in ons koppe! Ek werk by die universiteit en ek werk by die huis en alles is in my kop. Ek probeer tenminste elke middag om die blok draf, of loer by die kwekery of SPCA in om net iets anders te doen — iets fisies wat (tyd mors) en kop skoon maak.

    Dankie vir dié interessante leesstuk!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cornelia, ongelooflik baie dankie vir jou terugvoer! Dit is goed om die lewe interessant te hou (jy weet ook hoe soos ek jou ken) en jou kop dalk bietjie van die akademie af te kry. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Like mentioned by other procrastinators above – this was good material for just that. I like the big idea behind the Graphic design project, some think turning away from social media is the way to reconnect. I think by embracing it and using it as a platform to connect is the way to go. Well written DJ, thank you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

